Bushfire Attack Level

Bushfire Attack Level (BAL)

In response to devastating bushfires in Victoria in 2009, Australian Standard 3959 was updated and republished AS3959:2009. The Building Code of Australia referenced the new Standard on the 1st May 2010.

The old standard had 4 levels of bushfire attack, the new Standard has 6 levels of severity expressed as Bushfire Attack Levels (BAL):

• BAL - Low
• BAL - 12.5
• BAL - 19
• BAL - 29
• BAL - 40
• BAL - FZ

For more information click here to view the PDF Australian Window Association information sheet on the different construction requirements for windows and doors in each level.